NaNo Again, 2016

I hadn’t planned to NaNo this year. Heck, I still have last year’s NaNoWriMo winner sitting in pieces in Scrivener, waiting to be assembled and the gaps filled in. It’s mostly all there, just not quite a first draft yet, because I wrote it in chunks.

Normally, I’m linear as a writer. I guess I’m what is called a Pantser for the most part, though I do usually start out at least with a rough outline.

This year, I had nothing. Not even a smidge of an idea had been born, and I planned with all good intentions to skip NaNoWriMo 2016.

Then, this evening, I was washing dishes. Suddenly, there was a story knocking at the inside of my brain. It wasn’t just the bare concept of a story, but actually had the rudiments of a plot, some interesting characters, a conflict, potential danger…. It wasn’t enough to be a full-grown book, but what book starts out fully grown?

So, today reached 2,300+ words, and I am still not even sure where the story came from. The working title is The Burden of Proof, but that’s probably not going to be what the book is called once it’s done. In fact, I’m pretty sure that one’s already been used by someone, somewhere. It was just something to type in where they asked for a title on the NaNo dashboard page.

Will it see 50,000 words? Will I still be writing on November 30th? Will the story evolve into an actual novel? Who knows? Not me! But I’ll keep clicking and clacking away at the keyboard and see where it leads me!

 

